Skip to content
Joan Price

Testimonials about Joan Price’s Books and Presentations

“Joan Price was a high school English teacher for 22 years. She was divorced and never had kids. It wasn’t until she was 57–decades after any Hollywood rom-com director would think it possible–that she met the 64-year-old man who would sweep her off her feet…[now] Price is the energetic face offering practical sex advice to seniors who don’t lose their libidos just because they’ve been on this earth a little bit longer than the rest of us.” 

Mark Wilson

Meet the woman leading a sex revolution for seniors,” Fast Company, May 10, 2019

“The many voices in this book are smart, well-spoken and insightful…White-knuckle grief, ‘skin hunger,’ guilt, disloyalty, loneliness and isolation, and even loving memories clog the path forward…Every loss is unique, every person is unique and, therefore, every journey is unique. Price’s chapters about myths, grief counselors, dating and “pilot light lovers” (those who ignite dormant passions) are all especially meaningful in that they explore experiences, sexual orientation and concerns.”

Please read the rest of this beautiful review here.

 

Rae Padilla Francoeur

“I just finished Sex After Grief last week. I laughed and cried, and enjoyed every page! Thank you for giving me the opportunity to see sexuality through a perspective I haven’t experienced ❤️”

 

Katarina Swaringen

“Just watched your DVD.  It was realistic seeing real people who were making each other happy. Where was this 60 years ago when I was 20? Many early marriages blew up because no one knew what the heck they were supposed to do.”

Tom, an elder guy

“We got the Senior Sex DVD last week, and my husband and I watched it together. What a treasure – and what a turn-on! We had to shut it off 2/3 of the way through so we could have some very hot sex ourselves. I’ll just mention that while I am 71, he is a mere babe of 46.”

 

Slow Loris

“This fit and sassy septuagenarian is a role-model extraordinaire. To the prize-winning author of Naked at Our Age and Sex After Grief, no question about senior sex is off-limits. She is known as as a fierce advocate for ageless sexuality and is about as open as it gets when it comes to talking about sex. Joan is zealous about spreading the word that adults can be passionate and desirable at any age. She is frank, funny, knowledgeable and articulate. Our members are still talking about her presentations. Very well received, indeed!”

 

Riverdale Senior Services, Bronx, NY

“Culturally, we’re obsessed with adolescent sexuality, but that period is pretty brief. Sexual life after 50 is much longer and deserves much more respect and attention. Joan Price is the leading authority and a pioneer in promoting high-quality older-age sex.”

 

Michael Castleman, author, sex counselor, mcastleman.com

“Feisty, honest, refreshing. Regardless of medium, Joan’s expertise shines. Authentic and heartfelt, her insight and wisdom are as ageless as they are indispensable.”

Melissa White, founder LuckyBloke.com

This week the slutty scholars are joined by author, speaker, and ageless sexuality advocate Joan Price (AKA a conversation about all things sexy for seniors). Obviously, this episode is helpful for older adults, but it is invaluable and wise because we ALL get old! Also included: sex after grief and losing your beloved, what makes an ergonomic sex toy, the problems with desexualizing older folks, and how to have an orgasm without an erection!

Sluts & Scholars podcast

 

“Sex After Grief was incredibly insightful and enlightening. Your writing is comfortable for anyone right in the middle of grief. It is great to receive permission to enjoy sex and love again. Very sad in our society that those of us of a certain age still need permission. I can see myself giving your book to people in the future.  You revealed yourself and did what you encouraged your readers to do, and you came through a true inspiration to all of us. Thank you.”

 

Linda Williams

“Practical and poignant, Joan Price’s Sex After Grief is a rare book. Full of stories and quotes from other grievers, published authors, and Joan’s own journal, the book touches on many subtopics like ‘Myths about Sex and Grieving,’ ‘Dating Again,’ ‘Solo Sex,’ and ‘For Non-Grievers Who Want to Date Us.’ The book isn’t very long, but it is comprehensive and covers a lot of ground. Actually, it’s a masterpiece of brevity. The shared stories and quotes from other grievers show the reader that we are not alone, and that many others are experiencing what we are in the grieving process. I highly recommend this inspirational and comforting book.”

 

Barbara Aldridge

[the film]: “Making ‘Guide To Wicked Sex: Senior Sex’ with jessica drake, our sexy seniors, the professional crew, and Wicked Pictures, was the experience of a lifetime. I’m grateful and proud of the work we did together and the superb product that resulted.”

[Sex After Grief:] “When we’re in grief, we shut down in many ways. Coming back into our bodies is an important part of our learning to feel alive again. When I was reading other grief books in preparation for writing this one, I couldn’t believe how rarely sex was mentioned at all, and if it was, it was usually a warning. I’m very proud of this book. It’s much needed by grievers and the people who want to understand them.”

 

Hot Octopuss

Interview with Joan Price On Her ‘Completely Real and Unscripted’ Film, ‘Guide To Wicked Sex: Senior Sex and her new book, Sex After Grief,” Aug. 23, 2019

“In between scenes Ms. Price talks … about the myths, the how to’s, the whys and wherefores in regards to senior sex and how it can be better. We get to see Bonnie and Joel engaging in sexual play and how they go about pleasuring one another in very unrehearsed graphic style. It is a joy watching two seniors totally into each other and the roles that sex plays in their lives. Again we hear from Ms. Price throughout with plenty of great information, suggestions and answers to questions you may have. She touches on just about everything you could imagine when it comes to sex, our bodies as we age and so much more.You also get to [see how] the other couple Galen and Marlene…sexually interact as well. This is an excellent DVD that answers a lot of questions and puts to rest some of the negativity regarding seniors and sex…There is much to learn and enjoy in this DVD.”

Art Koch

Review – jessica drake’s Guide to Wicked Sex – Senior Sex,” All Adult Network.com, Aug. 28, 2019

“The advice that Price gives is broadly applicable to all people: communicate your desires with your partner; let go of expectations of what you are supposed to be doing sexually and embrace what actually feels good to you; be open to your own changing body and desires (and that of your partner’s); and take the sexuality of all people, regardless of age, seriously. The film, and Price’s work more broadly, are beautiful representations of all of these lessons.”

Jessie Sage

Joan Price on normalizing senior sex and the strategies for enjoying it,”  Pittsburgh City Paper, Aug. 28, 2019

“Reading this marvelous little book is like having your hand held followed by a warm hug as you learn myriad ways to cope with the loss of your beloved. The writing is clear, accessible, compassionate, and lively. Joan Price presents much helpful information and many useful suggestions that aid us grievers in reclaiming our sexuality. Her book fills a notable void and provides much-needed advice and assistance to seniors and younger adults who lose a partner. Sex After Grief is a wonderful addition to the literature. I recommend it most highly.”

 

Keith Marshall

“I predict that Sex After Grief  will be one of the most important books published about death and dying. Joan’s words are delivered with kindness and her advice is true to the heart. There are two things in life that can change you: the books you read and the people you meet. Do yourself a favour, grab a copy of Sex After Grief. This book is relevant to anyone who has experienced loss of a partner, not just from death, but also after the end of a relationship.”

Susan Jarvis, The Maven, The Spicy Boudoir, Australia

“I bought Naked at Our Age, and it was an eye opener for me, 7 years divorced. It helped give me the confidence for online dating, where I met a wonderful man. I wasn’t sure Sex after Grief was going to be relevant to my situation, but how wrong I was. My boyfriend is 3 years past a sudden loss of a long-term relationship. I can see from Sex after Grief that perhaps I’ll be the one to lead the touching, and slow is good. Your book is just a treasure trove of ideas of how to proceed. Thank you so much for writing this book that I thought I didn’t need.”

 

“Emma” age 72

“When I first met Joan, I was instantly drawn to her personality and charisma. I knew years ago I wanted to collaborate with her on a project, and I’m so glad that things have finally come together. Co-creating jessica drake’s Guide to Wicked Sex “Senior Sex” with her was a dream come true. From the pre-planning stages, into casting and production, all the way to the finished product, her enthusiasm, creativity and heart made this project even better than I could have ever imagined. There aren’t enough words to express my gratitude and devotion. Joan is an amazing woman, co-creator, and most importantly, a friend.”

jessica drake

I was introduced to Joan Price through reading her book, “The Ultimate Guide to Sex After 50,” and her newsletters. Believing that she is a wise and honest voice about senior sex, I set up a private consultation. We connected over Zoom, an easy to use Internet resource similar to Skype. I found Joan knowledgeable, sensitive, wise, understanding and generous with her time and insights. I feel honored that I spent time with Joan and look forward to putting her many helpful suggestions into action in order to enrich the intimate relationship between me and my husband. For anyone with questions relating to their sex lives, as well as those seeking solid and practical advice from a caring person, I would highly recommend having a consultation session (or as many as needed) with Joan Price.

Consultation client

“I always love Joan’s books because they are real, honest, inspirational, and audacious. Sex After Grief will advise and surprise you, whatever your age, gender, or orientation.”

Betty Dodson

PhD, author, artist, sexologist, orgasm educator since the early 1970s

“Deeply, honestly sourced in her own experience but aware that other people’s mileage may vary, this wise, compassionate, moving, sex-positive, and so necessary book breaks silence and lucidly tackles an all-too-common source of pain and shame. Author Joan Price has stitched ‘patches of [her] grief quilt’ together with other bereaved lovers’ insights and experiences woven throughout. It will prove a source of comfort for those who are grieving, and advice and support for those who are ready to open back up to sex, pleasure and love.”

Carol Queen PhD

Good Vibrations sexologist, co-founder of Center for Sex & Culture, San Francisco

“At 74, Joan is the nation’s leading and most outspoken expert on senior sex. A prolific public speaker and the author of three critically acclaimed books, a bevy of free webinars and a popular blog on the subject, Joan traverses the globe, spreading the good word that for people over 50, sex can be not only just as good as it was during a person’s fertile, more flexible years, but better.”

Isabelle Kohn

For the Best Sex of Your Life—Ask Old People,” Harper’s Bazaar, Oct. 17, 2018

“‘We’re often thought of in our society as having aged out of sex,’ says Price, a petite 75-year-old wearing low-heeled lace-up black shoes stamped with bright-red lipstick kisses. ‘We’re old, we’re wrinkly, who’d want us? We internalize the idea that as older people we’re not sexual anymore…What they don’t understand is that [sex] can, in many ways, be better than ever.’”

Tracy Clark-Flory

Porn That Takes Senior Sex Seriously,” Jezebel, May 7, 2019

“Jessica Drake reviewed the shot list with noted sexpert and guest host, Joan Price…Price, 75, had never been on an adult set before. The unlikely collaborators met five years ago at Los Angeles’ CatalystCon and became fast friends before embarking on their first joint endeavor. Price, a specialist in senior sexuality and authorial personality behind the Naked at Our Age blog, joined the Wicked team to give her voice to the ‘Senior Sex’ edition of the studio’s long-running educational series.”

Zoe Tamara

On the Set: Jessica Drake’s ‘Guide to Wicked Sex: Senior Sex’,” XBIZ, May 8, 2019.

“Sex and aging has been considered a taboo topic for far too long. Fortunately, Joan Price is shattering barriers and starting difficult conversations on the subject. It’s a heavy subject, to be sure, but it addresses a question that almost no one talks about, yet many of us will grapple with at some point: what happens to your sex life after the death of a partner? How do you move on and open yourself to new sexual connections? It’s an essential read for anyone grieving the loss of a partner and anyone trying to help a grieving friend or loved one. Price’s latest book begins a much-needed conversation and offers valuable advice and guidance in an accessible writing style that brims with passion and compassion.”

Justin Lehmiller, PhD, author of the blog Sex and Psychology and the book Tell Me What You Want: The Science of Sexual Desire and How It Can Help You Improve Your Sex Life

“With her characteristic clarity and insight, senior sexpert Joan Price zeros in on an experience that many people navigate but very few discuss: the experience of reclaiming sex after the death of a beloved. Sex After Grief is a profoundly compassionate, deeply personal, and exceptionally practical guidebook for moving forward after loss with both purpose and joy.”

Lynn Comella, PhD, author of Vibrator Nation: How Feminist Sex-Toy Stores Changed the Business of Pleasure

“Thank you for being our keynote speaker for our inaugural Let’s Talk About Sex, Relationships and Intimacy as We Age conference in Melbourne, Australia in September 2015. The feedback we had about your session was excellent. Delegates were inspired by the level of experience you brought, your compassion, and the work you have done in this area. Conference delegates included health professionals, Policy makers, residential aged care providers, carers, people living with dementia and seniors in our community. You managed to speak in a way that captivated all groups and left them inspired to make a difference in their work places and community. It was such a pleasure to work with you, Joan! We were grateful for your willingness to step in for an additional session when another speaker was unwell and your willingness to do media were greatly appreciated. Thank you for your expertise, compassion and generosity.”

 

Maree McCabe, CEO Alzheimer’s Australia Vic, Melbourne, Australia)

“Joan gave a great guest lecture in my Psychology of Sexuality course. Over a hundred students showed up, even though it was at a difficult time and not mandatory. The lecture was fun to listen to and look at, and the students were very involved and asked good questions. After the lecture, the students wanted to get their photos taken with Joan, as if she was a rock-star!”

Maerten Prins

instructor, Radboud Universiteit, Nijmegen, Netherlands.

“Bringing Joan Price to our 2016 conference for healthcare providers was a dream come true. Our conference organizer had heard Joan speak a few years prior and was so impressed. When we needed a speaker to address a group of medical professionals about senior sexuality, there was really only one person on our short list: Joan Price. From start to finish, Joan was professional, adaptable and easy to work with. The depth and breadth of her knowledge can only be topped by the sensitivity she brings to her subject. We were fortunate enough to book her for an additional event while she was in town. At the second event, she worked with seniors who were looking for solid information about remaining sexually happy into their golden years. All participants from both events were delighted with the knowledge Joan shared. I would happily host Joan again in Milwaukee (or anywhere, really). She is an asset to the sexuality education community.”

Lucky Tomaszek, Education Coordinator, Tool Shed Toys

“Working with Joan is a dream. After having worked alongside her, it’s no surprise that people feel so comfortable opening up to her about their most intimate concerns. Joan is incredibly attentive, welcoming, shrewd, hilarious, caring, and altruistic. The world is a sexually healthier place because of her.”

Francisco Ramirez, MPH

“I knew how awesome Joan was before she came to St. Louis, but her audiences were new to her mission, topic, and presentation style. It was so rewarding watching her knock their socks off! The audience was rapt, enlightened, and curious! Her positive energy and confidence made a great impression. I attended all three of her talks, and learned something new each time. She definitely changed lives for the better in my town. I am so grateful we were able to make her visit a reality!”

Kendra Holliday, Sex Positive St. Louis

“Thank you for speaking at our 2016 Sex and Aging Conference. I sincerely appreciated your flexibility in assisting us when one of our speaker/presenters had a last-minute emergency. Your kindness in pitching in with an additional presentation made light work of a very difficult situation. Further, your grace, humor and light touch with a complicated and sensitive subject made for a wonderful day of learning, fun and personal growth for everyone. What a charming approach to sex and sexuality!”

Marti Bailey, Director, Sibley Senior Assn & Community Health, Sibley Memorial Hospital Senior Services, Washington, DC 20016

  • “I can’t believe how much knowledge I drew from the few days she was training at our store. I help people that fall on a spectrum of ages, and through her books and trainings, I feel so much better equipped to help these people. Can’t talk highly enough about her.”
  • “I am such a fan of Joan and her work. Watching her teach a workshop is a delightful experience! Her passion for sex positive education is obvious, and it also doesn’t hurt that she’s a wonderfully witty speaker and smart as a whip. But what really blew me away about Joan is her professionalism and pedagogical skills. Joan strides determinedly into the difficult conversations with her audiences, bringing a natural optimism, sensitivity and open-heartedness that is truly moving. The sex positive community is so lucky to have an educator, writer and progressive thinker like Joan.”
  • “The knowledge and experience Joan brings to the table is pretty astounding; she is incredibly passionate, open, intelligent, and well spoken. Her training for our staff was perfectly customized to what we wanted and needed to know to better serve our senior clientele, with a great mix of both practical tips and education on how the body changes as we age. Joan was so approachable and friendly, which made for a really fun training experience and allowed our staff to ask any question and get thorough, honest answers.”
  • “Joan is a dynamic educator who weaves humor, theater, physicality and true knowledge into not only her workshops, but everything she does. If you are interested in ageless sexuality, Joan is your person. Read her books, check out her blog and fly her to your neck of the woods. You will not be sorry.”

Praise from the staff at The Smitten Kitten, Minneapolis, MN:

“Thank you for the incredible lecture you gave in May at the Radboud University, in the Netherlands. You opened my eyes about sex in older age. I had a very glum outlook towards sex during aging, so I’m happy to have found out that it does not have to become boring and less sensual. I took your advice and talked to my partner about what I wanted. You also helped a friend of mine in the audience to get the courage to break up after you made it clear that ‘just because a relationship has ended, does not mean it is a failed relationship.’ Not only did you open our minds concerning sex in older age, but you also made a positive impact in our lives today! I would encourage you not to limit yourself to speaking in front of older adults, because the sooner young adults learn about sex and aging, the less stigma will be around the topic, and the more open minded people will be about sex in general.”

Hannah Baumann

Student, age 23, Radboud University, Nijmegen, the Netherlands

“Joan Price’s presentation on ageless sexuality for the psychiatry department at Kaiser Permanente Santa Rosa was both eye-opening and informative. Her comfort level with the topic of sex combined with her expertise make her an excellent resource. Joan’s books should be required reading for all medical professionals working with people over the age of 50.”

Remi Newman, www.healthysexforlife.com, sex educator and instructor of Sex & Sensibility, a workshop for women at Kaiser Permanente Santa Rosa

“I’d love to speak for the whole of Australia, but just for now, let me say how thrilled we are to hear Joan’s’ message, to everyone over 50, on ways to continue being active and engaged with life. Her message about the evolution of our sexual lives as we age is powerful and important and I say, thank you!”

 

JD Ryan

owner, Downunder Toys, Melbourne, Australia

“Sex and aging is a topic that is not so easy for many people to talk about, but you did it with openness and feeling. Your humor did a lot to get people relaxed. From the number and quality of the questions that were asked, it was clear the audience was with you. Thank you for sharing your expertise with us.”

Philip Wigen, Oakmont Sunday Symposium, Santa Rosa, CA

“I loved your workshop and I appreciated the insight you were able to provide. The staff was really energized by the topic and they all gushed to me about how much they enjoyed you. It’s my plan to have you as much a part of our regular workshop rotation as much as I can.”

Brandon Bartling, manager, The Pleasure Chest, New York, NY.

“Event Planners: If you want to wow your audience, have them on their feet laughing, clapping and leaving with a sparkle in their eye and spring in their step, you’ll want to have Joan Price in your speaker lineup! Joan’s humor, candid insights into human nature, and her ability to inspire and engage an audience will be just the ingredient you need for a successful event. I can’t wait to have Joan on After Dark Radio Show again and look forward to working with her on other projects where I need an audience pleasing experience.”

Ande Lyons, After Dark Radio Show

“Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed the dating workshop.  Loved the opportunity to be able to talk to other singles and hear their experiences.  You provided a safe and fun atmosphere for that to happen.” “It was such a great get together and very informative.” “I was so warmed by everything that was said and that we are all looking for the same thing – connection! I’m grateful for the work you do. Your demeanor was lovely & supportive of everyone!”

Attendees at Joan’s workshop, “How the Heck Do I Date at This Age?”

“Thank you, Joan, for being our Sex Geek and teaching us so much, listening to all of our concerns, and being that special sex educator/teacher to continue to guide us.” “Thank you for your comprehensive and thoughtful workshop on sex and aging.  I’m married for the 2nd time and learning so much about our changing world.” “I’m 75 and I’m blown away by this whole new world of openness and information about sexuality for people my age. Sex really is as normal a part of life as eating and breathing, and your workshop showed me that that talking about sex is no more dangerous than talking about the last restaurant I enjoyed.” “In your workshop I learned a great deal more about what men’s needs are as they have seemed to change considerably.  Men are just as much in need of touch, cuddling, and kissing as women are.  It was great to listen to the guys talk about their needs for intimacy and love.”

Attendees at Joan’s workshop, “Ask Me, I’ll Tell You: Women and Men Talk Out Loud about Sex and Aging.”

“REFRESHING, ENERGIZING AND MOTIVATING are just some of the words that come to mind when referring to your presentation, Fitness on the Road, during the 2008 NADA Lifestyle Center recently held in San Francisco. Your enthusiasm for your topic shines through your presentation and I am sure the audience will be practicing your techniques and exercises not only at home, but the next time they are ‘on the road.’ The 2008 NADA Lifestyle Center was a great success and your participation helped make that happen.”

Christine M. Marshall, Convention Program Manager, National Automobile Dealers of America

“Joan is absolutely charming, totally honest in her self-disclosure in the service of teaching us. I would recommend this to any older woman experiencing difficulty or disinterest.” “I liked your warmth and down to earth manner, your sincerity.” “Very straight talk — that was great! Joan was very approachable.”

Participants, Straight Talk about Sex after Sixty workshop at Good Vibrations, Berkeley, CA

“You were frank and blunt — endearingly so.” “I liked that you let conversation take place, and that we were able to disclose and relate, regardless of age.” “I think your book and workshop would be great for people of all ages, especially, but not limited to, those who have gone through accidents, trauma, cancer/disease, chronic fatigue, depression, physical disability, and childbirth.” “This was a wonderful workshop, very inspiring. Lots to look forward to!”

Participants, Straight Talk about Sex after Sixty workshop at Venus Envy, Ottawa, Canada

“Joan Price has crossed taboo boundaries again―this time about the impact on sex of loss and grieving. All of us who cope with rebirthing sex after facing loss of a beloved wish we had a roadmap to follow. This book lights a path that sets us on the journey to recovery, with content that is relevant, necessary and inspiring for grievers and the helping professionals that serve them. It is truly a gift to humankind!”

Patti Britton, PhD

co-founder of SexCoachU.com, known worldwide as the Mother of Sex Coaching

“Price’s “Sexually Seasoned Women” walk, talk and share that sex absolutely is “better than they ever expected after 60, and what role models they are! These women broke open sexual doors in their 20s in 1960 and they are doing it again. They deliver that ‘oh so juicy’ and candid guidance of an older sister…you know, the one who has always liked sex. Any woman approaching sex after 60, 50 or 40 will laugh out loud and learn what to expect, how to break her own sexual mold, and how to have Better Sex Than She Ever Expected.”

Lou Paget

best-selling author of How to Be a Great Lover and How to Give Her Absolute Pleasure

“Better Than I Ever Expected boldly addresses a topic that deserves much more attention in our culture than it gets. Price offers a voice to women who, until now, kept their rich and satisfying sex lives to themselves.”

Marianne Brandon, PhD

co-author of Reclaiming Desire: 4 Keys to Finding Your Lost Libido

“Joan Price’s candid description of her own exploration of mature sexuality is a useful and validating self-help guide for her sixty-something peers and their partners.”

Sheryl A. Kingsberg, Ph.D.

Clinical psychologist and associate professor at Case Western Reserve School of Medicine

“Hot sex is definitely not just for the young. With wit, wisdom, and encouragement, Better Than I Ever Expected proves that sex over sixty can be just that. This book will warm your heart, add spring to your step, and light a fire between your sheets.”

Michael Castleman

author of Great Sex: A Man’s Guide to the Secrets of Total-Body Sensuality

“At a time when forty is the new thirty and fifty is the new forty, Better Than I Ever Expected gleefully shows us that for today’s woman the real fun doesn’t start until sixty.”

Ian Kerner

sex therapist and best-selling author of She Comes First: The Thinking Man’s Guide to Pleasuring a Woman

Scroll To Top